top of page

The Impossible

I have been up so many hours now I am not sure how I'm still awake as I haven't slept in over forty hours, a combination of feeling like I myself gave birth and of Shavuos night, but I wanted to share this before it leaves me.


A very long day I had yesterday that started very very early in the morning.

One thing to the next I went where Hashem took me.


After a class and picking up my son's laundry from his yeshiva gate I made my way to the hospital. It was already very very late.


All night long I was with "Sarah" at the hospital, with her in her labor. There was a moment when it wasn't night, but it still wasn't day. It was so late and so early.


We shared some moments and "Sarah" told me a bit of her and her husband, let's call him "Avraham's" meeting, their journey. They had already been married for quite a few years and had been told that their chances of having children were slim and having a child naturally was impossible.


I repeat.


Impossible.


I'm telling you this story. It's still fresh, it happened this morning. I was there.


Well "Avraham" and "Sarah" after deciding that they couldn't take anymore failed treatments, quit. The next month baruch Hashem, thank G-d, Sarah conceived. Yes, naturally.


I was there, all night and all morning....


And somewhere in the labor I remembered that this week is parshat Vayera. The parsha when the angels came to tell Avraham that he and his barren wife Sarah, old people well beyond their fertile years, would have a son.


There was laughter.


Laughter in faith and laughter in, how could the impossible be possible? Or maybe it's possible, but who am I to think that I'm worthy to have the impossible happen to me?


You see when the angels came to Avraham and Sarah, they were indeed great and had passed many tests, but they still were just a couple, an old man and an old woman sitting in a tent.


EXTRAORDINARY, but also ORDINARY people who had tests, trials, ups and downs, worked very hard and really, they didn't have it easy. To them Hashem said the impossible according to nature will be miraculously naturally possible and from these two people a nation came forth and their descendants continue to grow miraculously and naturally.


The week of Vayera couldn't have been a more perfect time for their precious baby girl to be born. It was not at the crack of dawn and not at dusk but in the middle of the day at an ordinary hour on an ordinary, non holiday, nothing special weekday.


A miracle, baruch Hashem.


The midwives today had no idea why the sobbing and tears from Avraham and Sarah (and myself as well!) as the baby was born because they didn't know their story, didn't know all that they had gone through and all that they had done. They didn't know that this baby was more than your usual miracle.


An important thought to hold onto and then I'm going off to sleep is that....


Avraham and Sarah were (and are) real people.

Miracles do happen to extraordinary ordinary people.

The impossible when placed in Hashem's Hands is still possible.



May we always share in such beautiful moments; be meritorious to see them happening.


Many blessings,

Shabbat Shalom,


Elana

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page