top of page

Real Help :)

It's Friday morning, erev Shabbat.

A knock on my door. I can tell it's a child by the knock. It's one of those persistent ones.

I'm in the middle of mopping.

I open the door and see an adorable 5 year old girl with her cute toddler brother.

"Can I come over now and play?" "Not now sweetheart. We're getting ready for Shabbat." "I can help you." She counters me.

I tell her, "Help begins in the home. Go help your Mommy." "My Mommy told me it would help her if I didn't bother her." She tells me.

I smile. I love the innocence of kids and their honesty. I understand both her and I understand her mother.

I just don't know who is doing what and who is the one who really helps who.

So Hashem creates Man and says to the angels, "Let's make man." To leave a doorway for us to think that we are actually doing something, like this little girl who wanted to "help me". But you see, it's all Him.

And we learn another lesson here.

Hashem gave us the "Let's" to give us permission to understand that no, we can't do it alone. If He can act with such humility to say, "I need some help here (even when He didn't) then so can we Shabbat Shalom,

Much bracha, Elana

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page