top of page

How Much?

It’s the question asked over and over again.

How much?

How much to do and how much not to do? How much should I do and how much I shouldn’t?

I get the “cure” question a lot. How much running for healing?

Or to bring children into this world.

At what point do you go and at what point do you stop?

I ask myself this question a lot.

I see the “livelihood” question a lot. How much running for a living?

To push or not to push. To try or not to try? Spend one more hour doing or not doing?

At what point to you go and at what point do you stop?

I ask myself this question a lot.

It’s in all areas of life. Finding your soulmate and finding the right place for you to be at this point in your life.

Maybe it’s getting into a school or getting your child into one.

To run or to stay put.

There are those who have their checklist. They go running from one thing to the other. The goal- just to check the list off. “You see I’ve done EVERYTHING. I tried EVERYTHING.” They throw up their hands, “I’m absolved.” But with this too, I think that they are trying to control the matter.

So what is the balance? What is the answer? How do we

know how much work, how much effort?

The answer? I don’t know if it’s the answer, but this is my

thoughts on the matter.

If the thing that you are doing is causing so much stress, then it can’t be the cure. If you think to yourself, “If only I do this…that will happen.” It can’t be that you are on the right path.

The answer.

Maybe it can be found in the servant’s name, Eliezer (Eli=God ezer=helps).

That’s right, Eliezer.

Avraham sent his trusty servant, Eliezer to bring back a wife for his son. He sent him off with camels, jewelry, and delicacies. He certainly did his part to make a “real world” “grounded” effort. He asked him to go and Eliezer asked, “What if she doesn’t want to come?” Like maybe there was something more he had to do to convince her more? To take Yitzhak there instead of her coming back?

Avraham’s answer?

The Lord, God of the heavens, Who took me from my father's house and from the land of my birth, and Who spoke about me, and Who swore to me, saying, 'To your seed will I give this land' He will send His angel before you, and you shall take a wife for my son from there. And if the woman will not wish to go after you, you will be absolved of this, my oath; only do not return my son back there (Beresheit 24:7-8)."

Hashem is in control. He is taking care of the matter. No reason to push or try to impose this matter. Do something. Have faith that Hashem can and will do the best thing for us. Then, let go.

I know it’s not easy, but with this too Eliezer, Hashem will help.

Many blessings in all of our efforts and in having clarity of what to do and how much to do of it.

Shabbat Shalom,

Elana

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page