top of page

An Oasis in the Desert

A week of mini adventures. A day in the desert. In the middle of nowhere, or is it everywhere? Sand, dirt, rock covered hills of greys, browns, and even red. It looks like nothing grows or lives out there in the desert, but in the desert is where I close my eyes for a moment and enjoy the silence of life. In the silence of acres and acres of dry, “barren” land, one more easily notices life, yes and feels alive. All this in the desert.

We came to an oasis in the middle of the Judean Desert, a desert that is located so very low. Excitedly we tell each other, “Look, up ahead, I see green. I hear the sounds of running water.” An oasis, a stream, or is it even a river? G-d made pools for the children to splash and play in the middle of nowhere, or is it everywhere? Yes, an oasis in the desert.

Only G-d has a way of bringing forth greenery, life and growth, that’s right, water, in the middle of low desert sand. Sweet, running water, so refreshing, so cool. Water that is normally taken for granted, but not there, not in the desert.

“You shall remember the entire road on which Hashem, your G-d, led you these forty years in the Wilderness (desert)…(Devarim 8:2)”

Why is it so important to remember a road so barren and hard? A road in the Wilderness, in the desert?

Because when you are at your lowest, when you feel emptiness, like nothing is growing, just the opposite is true. Tune into the silence and that fact that there are hidden oases, everywhere pockets of Divine water, Torah, and light.

Be patient, keep going, know that in the moments of desert you will find beauty and life.

***

A day in the Tel Aviv area that started out with praying mincha (afternoon prayers) in Bnei Barak, in a very holy shul (synagogue). I step inside and soak up the holiness of a place where many tzaddim (holy people) prayed and learned. A place where they still do.

I finish my prayers and wait outside with my daughters in the humid air for my husband and sons to finish praying.

We sit there and a beggar comes up to me to ask for a shekel or two. I have none to give him. I tell him, “Ain li (I don’t have).” He reproaches me as only a holy beggar can do.

“Don’t say “ain li. Say, “Yesh lo (He has).” And he points up to the Heavens.

Reframing everything the way we must do.

“…man does not live by bread alone, but rather by, whatever comes forth from the mouth of the Lord does man live (ibid 8:3).”

I nod my head and thank him for the reminder which I bring all week long to my dear clients and to you.

***

Have you noticed that these past weeks I write so late in the week? One more week of summer vacation and then, thank G-d, it’s back to school…There are so many thoughts and reflections, but I am writing on the couch where our entire apartment is empty like the desert and here where Mommy is, trying to write, is thank G-d, I guess the oasis of our home. I don’t even know really what I wrote or if it makes sense and if it is understandable, but hopefully you’ll find something good in it and know what I mean.

Back to hide n’ seek and trying to get ready for Shabbes kodesh.

Shabbat shalom, With blessings,

Elana

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page